Skip to content

Cactus’s Secret Volume 1

April 17, 2010

I’M SO EXCITED!!!! I’M GOING TO THUNDER OVER LOUISVILLE FOR THE FIRST TIME TODAY!!!!! ok, enough of the capslock. But seriously, I’m going to Thunder over Louisville tonight~ It’s the first kick-off for the Kentucky Derby and it’s basically a MASSIVE fireworks festival. And by massive I mean the “largest annual pyrotechnics display in North America”.

Cactus’s Secret volume 1
by:
Nana Haruta
published by: Viz Media [Shojo Beat imprint]
from the publisher: Falling in love with a clueless boy would turn any girl into a cactus!

Miku Yamada has a longtime crush on classmate Kyohei Fujioka. But no matter how many times she tries to show him how she feels, clueless Kyohei just doesn’t get it. Frustrated, Miku gives up on him, only to have him start calling her “Cactus” for being prickly when he’s around. Will Kyohei ever figure out Cactus’s secret?
Miku decides to try telling Kyohei her feelings by giving him chocolates for Valentine’s Day. But Kyohei, unaware that he’s the object of her affection, offers himself up as a practice partner for her love confession. Can Miku get through to him that he’s the one she loves?
my ramblings: First: omg, the cactus in the title art~ Seriously the cover design is great! It’s super close to the original, but just enough different to make it original to the Viz edition, and I love it. And I really, really love the title art, it’s super adorable. On the inside, there were literally no typos or grammatical errors that I caught, so kudos to the Viz staff.

To be honest, I really connected with Miku because the guy I like is kind of a moron and incredibly dense. He had no idea I liked him until someone told him, so I definitely understand how Miku felt for pretty much the entire volume. Basically, Haruta did a fine job of showing how a girl in that situation would fare. And her art is just as adorable as everything else I’ve seen of her art. It’s cute and light and while there are quite a few screentones (it’s shojo art, it’s shouldn’t be a surprise), they’re not used in a distracting way.

Oh, and since there’s a cute little collaboration with Mayu Sakai (or Mayu-pon Sakai as Nana-sama calls her) at the end of the book that has a first part in Nagata chou Strawberry (one of Mayu Sakai’s works), we need that licensed too so we have the whole thing (and because I would love to see some Mayu Sakai licensed~).

Haruta’s first officially translated work in America did not fail to please. It was just adorable. I can’t wait to get the read the second volume.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. warriorhope permalink
    April 17, 2010 1:26 pm

    I could relate to Miku too~ I also loved how a guy was the clueless one for once in a shojo series.

    The mini cactus in the title is adorable. It needs to be iconed.

    • warriorhope permalink
      April 17, 2010 1:26 pm

      Oh yeah and have fun! Fireworks are winsause.

      • April 18, 2010 12:20 pm

        YES! It was fantastic how the guy was the one who was completely clueless and not the girl!

        I might just have to icon it now~

        Thanks~ I did have fun! :D

  2. April 18, 2010 9:30 pm

    Haha, for once the guy is a dunce when it comes to love!
    Wow xD
    Though I think I would get massively annoyed if after so many attempts to tell this guy I like him he still goes durh?
    But that’s just me :P

    • April 19, 2010 11:02 am

      I know, it’s great~ :D
      It’s definitely not just you; It’s frustrating as hell (speaking from experience).

Trackbacks

  1. Tweets that mention Cactus’s Secret Volume 1 « kelakagandy’s ramblings -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

