Skip to content

One Piece: East Blue 1 (omnibus 1-3)

April 19, 2010

One Piece: East Blue 1 (One Piece volumes 1-3)
by:
Eiichiro Oda
published by: Viz Media [Shonen Jump imprint]
from the publisher: Get ready to set sail!
As a child, Monkey D. Luffy dreamed of becoming King of the Pirates. But his life changed when he accidentally ate the Gum-Gum Fruit, an enchanted Devil Fruit that gave him the ability to stretch like rubber. Its only drawback? He’ll never be able to swim again–a serious handicap for an aspiring sea dog! Years later, Luffy sets off on his quest to find the “One Piece,” said to be the greatest treasure in the world…
my ramblings: I really need to stop getting into long shonen series. Problem is, I tend to like them, and One Piece is no exception. I wasn’t going to even attempt to get into this series (since it’s up to 57 volumes in Japan already) until Viz put out 4 omnibus volumes of the first 12 volumes. I only have this first one so far, but I absolutely see the appeal of One Piece. The only problem I had with this volume was the quality of the paper; it was basically the same paper used in Shonen Jump magazine, which is not what I’ve come to expect from a Viz volume of manga. The binding was fairly tight, so that wasn’t a problem, but the paper was incredibly thin and I felt like I was going to rip it most of the time. The paper quality is almost outweighed by my love for omnibus volumes, which are an incredible deal. My only hope for this series is that Viz will put out more omnibus part volume 12 for those of us who are still way behind on One Piece (especially after their 5 volume a month speed up).

4 Comments leave one →
  1. warriorhope permalink
    April 19, 2010 2:06 pm

    That reminds me. I said buy Inuyasha in the Omnibus format.

    Has Viz mentioned anymore omnibus for shojo? I kind of expect Boys over Flowers or Ceres,one day.

    • April 19, 2010 2:25 pm

      I really would like to start reading the actual InuYasha manga and keep meaning to buy the VIZBIG versions, but always find something else to buy, lol. xD

      It doesn’t look like they’ve got any planned (I just checked Simon and Schuster in case, but it was a no go). :[ I can’t believe they wouldn’t do more VIZBIG shojo, but who knows. I’d love if they did!!

      • warriorhope permalink
        April 19, 2010 3:52 pm

        lol. I read the first half the series in library books.

        They might be waiting until SDCC

        • April 19, 2010 4:36 pm

          Libraries are where it’s at! :D (reason number idk why I want to be a librarian ;] )

          I really hope they announce lots of fun things at SDCC (since I’ll actually be there! lol).

Leave a Reply

