Skip to content

Itazura na Kiss volume 2

April 20, 2010

Better late than never, eh? Hahaha, sorry this post is almost not today, I had a final at 7pm and was really worried about it for most of the day, and then I had to watch GLEE (which was FANTASTIC!), and then read this and reviewed it. Here’s hoping tomorrow is less hectic! (who am I kidding? It definitely will be, haha.)
Itazura na Kiss volume 2
by:
Kaoru Tada
published by: DMP
from the publisher: Kotoko passes the college entrance exam and gets accepted to the same college as Naoki and their first semester has just begun. Kotoko’s excited and looking forward to spending more time with Naoki, thinking it’s the beginning of her new and happy school life! But no! Now she has competition! And her competition is tall and beautiful, smart, good at sports…Oh my god, she’s practically perfect!…and she is also after Naoki! Is Kotoko ready to take on a nemesis?
my ramblings: Got a free preview of the whole volume from DMP thanks to Twitter!

Naoki’s mother is still probably my favorite character in the series, she’s just so crazy and fun. “Then hurry up and do something that will result in a baby!” is probably the best line ever.

I actually found myself hating Naoki here. Admittedly, I did watch the anime, but I never really had any feelings of hate for him. In this volume however, he just kept doing things that, to be quite blunt, pissed me off. He was unnecessarily rude to Kotoko and jealous when he clearly didn’t need to be. I almost found myself rooting for Kin-chan over Naoki at times because he was making me so mad. Kotoko is definitely an airhead at times, but she’s not completely stupid and it makes me mad that Naoki thinks he’s so much better than her and therefore treats her terribly.

I know I make it sound like I hate this series now,  but that’s far from the truth. I really do love the series so far, mostly thanks to Kotoko, who more than makes up for Naoki’s douchebaggery. DMP also did a great job with the volume. I love that you can get the series online if you so prefer. Obviously, I have no idea what the print quality is like, since this is from the online version, but the pages looked great and while there were a few times they left sound effects untranslated, they always put a translation right next to it, as unobtrusively as possible. I also liked the translation note about the “number 2 button.” I already knew what that meant, but it’s great that they put the note in the sidebar for those who wouldn’t know.

The series definitely has its flaws, but I have a feeling my hate for Naoki will start to clear up once he stops being such a tool (hopefully in the next volume), so I still have to suggest it as a great classic shojo series!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. warriorhope permalink
    April 20, 2010 10:07 pm

    Ah, I hope your final went okay. (and yesh, this episode of glee was love~)

    Yeah, I think they toned down a lot of the Naokidickery in the anime verison, because after they were finished highschool they had to skip a lot of sections in the anime.

    Naoki’s mother is awesome. She makes the more tideous parts of Itakiss bareble.

    I think he stops being a tool only after they get married and he becomes a docter.

    • April 21, 2010 12:28 pm

      Thanks! I think it went alright at least. (and omg, I just love GLEE, I can’t get over how much I love it~)

      They must have toned it down a lot, because I remember not liking him at times, but never to the point of almost hating him for being such a dick.

      She is basically the best part of the series, I love her so much! :D

      Yeah, that’s when I remember him being less of a tool in the anime.

      • warriorhope permalink
        April 25, 2010 4:26 pm

        Naokidickery gets better around volumes 6/7/8. He’s still calls her stupid sometimes, but he also starts to respect her and her ideas more. In volume 8 he sort of even defends her when someone calls her stupid/usless. He’s still can be a dick, but he actually tries to make it up to her afterwards, taking baby steps.

        I’m surprised DMP removed the date chapter though from volume 2, since it was part of volume 4 in the regular editions.

        • April 25, 2010 6:03 pm

          Well that’s exciting, since it’ll be in like 1/2 volumes from now. And I definitely look forward to him almost defending her! :D

          Hmm…they’re publishing the same omnibus version as were recently re-released in Japan, and I think that they’re not exactly 2 volumes in one, but rather the chapters have been divied up differently to fit more exactly in the 12 volumes (since there were 23 originally), which I’m guessing is why it’s not there.

          • warriorhope permalink
            April 25, 2010 6:15 pm

            It was kind of a non-chanlant thing, but it’s something he definity would not have done at the start of the series, so it showed character devlopment for sure. We should get to see it in the fourth omnibus if it’s ever released (personally I think DMP

            • warriorhope permalink
              April 25, 2010 6:17 pm

              Damn I got cut off, anyways I think DMP should offer Itakiss for rental on their emanga site, if it meaas them putting the whole legal release out. I would perform a printed volume, but if they can only do it online due to costs, I would be fine with that too..

              Ah that makes sense. Especally since 23 is such a werid number.

  2. April 25, 2010 6:37 pm

    Any sort of character development for him is good, even if it’s just tiny. :D

    I think DMP plans on putting out the whole thing, they’re just kind of slower than other companies (though they do a pretty good job, so I’m not complaining). They even said something a while back on twitter about having some sort of special news pertaining to ItaKiss, so hopefully they’ll announce that soon and it will be good for the book releases. :]

    Yeah, I’m pretty sure that’s what it is, which does make sense for the whole 23 volumes thing (which makes me wonder how Tokyopop is going to handle Furuba Ultimate…).

Leave a Reply

