Skip to content

Mixed Vegetables Volume 7

April 23, 2010

Mixed Vegetables volume 7
by:
Ayumi Komura
Published by:
Viz Media [Shojo Beat imprint]
from the publisher:
Leaving her internship at Sushi Hyuga to go on her family’s annual trip to France is the last thing Hanayu wants to do. On the other hand, a pastry-research trip in Europe is Hayato’s idea of a dream come true–can the two aspiring chefs ever catch a break? Plus, Hayato has become suspicious of patisserie assistant Maezawa, who has expressed an interest in Hanayu. As it turns out, both Hanayu and Hayato may have their wires crossed about what Maezawa is really after!
my ramblings:
haha, I posted about the first volume of this series and never got around to volumes 2-6, so expect those sometime soon. ^^; But in the meantime, I just got volume 7, so it’s rambling time~

This series always ends on a cliffhanger, it drives me batty! And since this is the penultimate volume, it’s almost worse this time. I did really enjoy this volume though; there were lots of surprises (like a certain someone being married). There’s always so much intrigue in this series even though it’s about sushi and cakes, for whatever reason (maybe because it ran in Margaret?), but it’s definitely enjoyable.

I really enjoy the relationship between Hana and Hayato. Admittedly, it did start off rather shallow, but by even a few volumes ago you could tell that they really care for each other. They always give up things for the other and are literally either thinking about each other, sushi, or cakes, and it’s amusing for me.

Viz did a fine job as usual, and the extra notes at the end for all the cooking terms is a great addition! I can’t believe that there’s only one more volume of this series left. I hope it did well enough for Viz to think about licensing more of Komura’s work, because I’ve definitely liked what I read, and there seems to be quite a few other great-looking series and oneshots from her.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. April 26, 2010 6:04 pm

    Sushi and cakes? An interesting combo ^^;
    Ah, so many shojo series to read!
    I’m just getting back into Skip Beat (I just ordered vol 6 *gets shot*)

    Will have to add this to the never shrinking to-read-in-the-future pile

    • April 26, 2010 7:56 pm

      It is kind of an interesting combo. I really want to see how it works out in the end (one more volume~).

      There’s so much shojo, it’s crazy!

      I keep meaning to get into SkipBeat! because I liked the anime well enough, but now that there are already like 25 volumes, it’s kind of intimidating. xD

      Haha, if you think my collection’s big, you should see my to-read pile. xD

  2. Daimio permalink
    May 4, 2010 9:39 am

    I’ll give this one a try once the final volume is published. Have been in my to-read-list for quite a while :P

    Also, I recommend you to start reading/buying Skip Beat! Nevermind its length is definitely worth it. Once I started collecting it, and therefore reading it, it became my number one buying priority until I catched up. Now the waiting is so painful~

    Well, nevermind that, just read it! Seriously!

    And thank you for the review!

    • May 9, 2010 5:26 pm

      It’s really good, but I don’t blame you for waiting until it’s done, the cliffhangers are killer! D: I hope that more of Komura’s stuff (like Hybrid Berry! and Usotsuki Lily) gets licensed~

      I have a feeling I’ll end up buying it eventually, mostly because I really like the Kyoko/Ren interactions. :3

      And thank you for the comment! :D

Leave a Reply

