Skip to content

More Manga~

April 27, 2010

My dad just got home from China yesterday and the way he has to fly, he goes through the Tokyo airport. Since my birthday is exactly 2 weeks from today, I asked him to get me manga from the airport. I sent him a big giant list so he’d have a bunch of ideas of things to get (from experience, the selection is kinda tiny), and while he got me 2 of the tankoban I asked for and the magazine, he also got me 4 random tankoban.

The things I did ask for:

The May issue of Ribon~ Mostly I wanted this for the furoku, haha. But I also love looking at the series I semi-follow or am at least familiar with, like Sakura Hime Kaden, Stardust Wink, Momo, Hiyokoi, and Yumeiro Patissiere. (side note, looks like Tennouji is hot for teacher.) I also looked at Heart no Dia for the hell of it, and lol trap.
NANA volumes 6 and 7. Years ago my dad bought me the first couple volumes of NANA while in the Tokyo airport, and so now instead of buying the English releases, I ask for a few volumes of the Japanese version every time he goes. I’m sure I’ll eventually I’ll catch up…only 14 volumes to go! xD

Now for the things I didn’t ask for:

Kimi ni Todoke volumes 1 and 2~ I have no idea how my dad randomly picked these out, but yay! I mean, yes I already have them both in English, but I love it so much, I love supporting the author twice~
Volumes 1 and 2 of The Melancholy of Suzumiya Haruhi-chan. I literally have NO idea how in the world my dad randomly picked these out. It’s kind of hilarious actually. I watched the ONA when Kadokawa first uploaded them to YouTube, so I vaguely know what’s going on, but it still cracks me up that he would pick this series of all things. (To be quite honest, I have a feeling he picked them because they’re slightly larger than other tankoban, lol.)

8 Comments leave one →
  1. warriorhope permalink
    April 27, 2010 12:32 pm

    Ah you’re lucky.

    Yay issue of Ribon cool~ lol at Heart no Dia. That series is so ridculous. Mainly because it’s unbelieveable that Shinjou got a series in Ribon.

    Ah cool. At least you’re supporting the releases in one way or another. ^__^

    yay for doublely supporting KnT~

    • April 27, 2010 2:10 pm

      I know~ I love when my dad brings me manga! :D

      haha, I still don’t know how she got into Ribon either…on the plus side, Heart no Dia was like the last story in the magazine, which I think usually means it’s not doing well (though MOMO was like right before it, so maybe not, because I know MOMO is fairly popular).

      If Japanese DVDs worked on US players I would probably buy the Japanese DVDs too~ But they don’t, so I’m going to have to pray that someone picks it up soon (I’m actually hoping for Sentai since they do a fairly ok job and their releases are quick and cheap).

      • warriorhope permalink
        April 27, 2010 2:34 pm

        Ah, that’s interesting.

        I can see Sentai picking it up, since they seem to do a lot of shojo/romcom stuff.

        • April 30, 2010 11:21 am

          Yeah, and since no one else has picked it up yet, they’re kinda my last hope. :[

  2. April 27, 2010 3:01 pm

    May was a good issue to get! Sometimes Ribon’s furoku can be a bit hit-miss, but this month had some really nice stuff! I loved the Hiyokoi pen ;o;

    Yeah Heart no Dia is…. like Shinjo tried to put as many lolwhut!plot devices in as possible :’D Even though I “read it with interest”, I was kind of hoping that being in Ribon would maybe mean she did something more… fluffy; instead it’s just kind of toned-down Sho-Comic stuff :’D

    • April 30, 2010 11:24 am

      It really was a good month to get~ (ugh, I have so many random Ribon hairties that I don’t know what to do with them, lol). The Hiyo Koi pen is super cute. I really like the YumePati ones too~

      ahahaha, I’m not surprised. I glanced through the chapter and was like, “huh, how in the world does this fit with the rest of Ribon?” She seems to be a one-trick horse though, so I guess I’m not too surprised…

  3. April 30, 2010 4:58 pm

    8D Awesome ~
    I love getting Japanese manga magazines because of all the free stuff that comes with them :3
    [Too bad they cost an arm and a leg to ship to the states D:]

    Like that your dad randomly got you some Haruhi manga ~

    • April 30, 2010 9:55 pm

      Furoku is really the main reason I ask for the magazine anymore. xD I love flipping through them, but hell, I don’t know any Japanese so it’s not like I fully understand what’s going on. xD

      It was the weirdest thing I think he’s ever handed me. xD

Leave a Reply

