Skip to content

Ribon June 2010

April 29, 2010

Figured I might as well end with something familiar too, haha. (though not really ending since tomorrow is technically the last day of BEDA, but whatevs.) Stardust Wink by Nana Haruta is on the cover this/next month, and it looks super cute. I still really, really hope that Cactus’s Secret does well here so that Viz will license more of her work, because it’s all adorable!

I know I’m like 30 minutes to the deadline of today, but I was out having fun and goofing off with friends, so whatever. ;] One more day of BEDA, and I’ll have made it~ (what I’ll do for tomorrow, I really have no idea, lol.)

Anyway, check out even more adorable after the cut!


I really like what few images I’ve seen from Hiyo Koi and I just really like it already, haha. is biased
um…I’m not really sure what’s up with Sakura’s hand here…but I don’t approve… :[ The rest of the image is cute, but her hand. D:


For like the first time in ever, SHK will be on the cover next issue~


It will also have 80 pages (or is that 40 pages and a 40 page side story?)~ And woahmagosh look at that image of Sakura and Asagiri! : D


This was a chapter cover a few chapters ago I think, but it’s still nice and pretty (and text-less, which is the best part).


I’m not sure I approve of Ichigo’s dress…or her massive crepe/ice-cream cone, lol.


Again, I have so much random love for Hiyo Koi and Stardust Wink already, haha. :]


Cute little Momo and something I don’t recognize…oh wait, oh dear, please tell me that’s not Mayu Shinjo’s work? D: Nevermind…I looked again and it’s clearly CRASH!… xD


This seems to be a one-shot or possibly new series in the next issue and I don’t know who it is, but it’s super cute~


I’m excited for YumePati volume 6~ The others I couldn’t really GAF about. ;]


A random cute image featuring Anna from Stardust Wink.


And finally, the wallpaper from this month’s cover~ I really, really love Nana Haruta’s art~

7 Comments leave one →
  1. warriorhope permalink
    April 30, 2010 8:35 am

    Ah cool~

    Sakura’s hand looks broken -_-

    The other SHK images are pretty. The Asagari and Sakura one reminds me of a similar image from Ceres, and old/textless cover art is beautiful.

    I tempted to start reading Hiyo Koi just based on all the images with her and chicks~

    The new series/oneshot looks like it has beautiful art.

    Hmm…I daresay they might pick up Stardust Wink anyways, since they picked up Stepping on Roses, even though I don’t think Tail of the Moon sold particularly well.

    • April 30, 2010 10:44 am

      It does look broken…but she’s so smiley, it’s just weird. :/

      I’m pretty sure I know the image you mean from Ceres and it does look pretty similar.

      Well, now Hiyo Koi is getting an anime…so apparently other people like it too… I really wish it were MOMO or SHK instead, they’d make much more interesting anime than Hiyo Koi (I read a few chapters of Hiyo Koi and it’s super, super cute, but not really new or particularly interesting).

      It does look like super nice art. I really want to know who it’s by.

      That would be super nice…and that’s true. I’m not sure that TotM did great, but they did get SoR, so that is some hope~ :D

  2. April 30, 2010 3:24 pm

    Half the time I wish Ribbon would release a separate publication that’s just completely all artwork. Cause the stuff they have on covers and all is just too gorgeous, only to be marked by huge font writing everywhere xD

    Agreed that MOMO or SHK would make a much better anime. Hiyokoi’s setup is … rather overdone =\

  3. April 30, 2010 5:05 pm

    The only thing I know (read) is Hiyo Koi xD
    I’m shocked to hear it’s getting an “anime”
    Isn’t there only 1 volume out?
    No bashing Hiyo Koi but…I’m kind of surprised o_o;

    Love how pretty and sparkly everything is ~
    Makes me want to read these series :3

  4. April 30, 2010 9:51 pm

    @Aorii:

    They should just release like a yearly Ribon artbook with all the cover pages from the year. It would be like the best thing ever. It would mean waiting a little for textless versions, but hey better late than never! :D

    yeah…HiyoKoi is just a weird pick for an anime…

    @sylphalchemist:

    haha, HiyoKoi is cute in its own way~ Yeah, there’s only one volume out so far, I think it just came out like a month or two ago too. And agreed, HiyoKoi is a weird choice. With the way the announcement was worded, I think it is just like a 30 minute OVA type thing (which I would totally be down with), but I could be wrong.

  5. Rin permalink
    May 1, 2010 3:01 pm

    I like that SHK chapter cover. It’s pretty. I also like Ichigo’s dress and ice cream. And also, did you know Hiyo Koi’s getting an anime? http://www.animenewsnetwork.com/news/2010-04-30/hiyokoi-shojo-romantic-comedy-manga-gets-event-anime

    • May 1, 2010 4:18 pm

      I know…I love almost all Arina illustrations~ (I would say all, but the image up there Sakura’s hand kinda killed that…). I think it’s really Ichigo’s hat I don’t like…it’s just kind of weird for me. xD

      And I did hear about Hiyo Koi getting an anime…I was kinda raging on twitter. xD I like Hiyo Koi fine (it’s cute and sweet), but it’s sad that something else didn’t get picked. Though I think it is just like an OVA, since that says “event anime” and that’s what event anime usually are. :]

Leave a Reply

