Skip to content

Yen Press Novel Covers

May 4, 2010


The covers for two of Yen Press’s forthcoming novels have been…well, not leaked, but found through Hachette’s release catalog. I’m really happy with both of them, as Book Girl keeps the original art, but adds the photographic cover that seems to be necessary and My Girlfriend’s a Geek is basically just an updated version of the original Japanese cover (and I love how the used different fonts for the title). I do think the cropping on the Book Girl cover is a little strange, but I like it nonetheless. Any thoughts?

8 Comments leave one →
  1. May 4, 2010 7:28 am

    I…don’t quite like the cover. It looks like the book has been burned or something and Touko is the only saving grace on appearance. Not to mention, Bungaku Shoujo is supposed to be in brighter, cooler colors, something which I thought reflected the youths in the story. This looks more like an antique somebody pulled off of any old shelf and had a little kid smack a sticker onto it. :/

  2. Daimio permalink
    May 4, 2010 9:51 am

    I have the impression that I’d like the cover for Book Girl much more in person as it happened with the Spice & Wolf Novel 1 (which looks… let’s be honest, quite awful on the internet). It’s not that I don’t like it now, it’s just that…. well, it looks kinda weird.

    I like the Fujoshi Kanojo’s cover much more. It’s even better than the japanese one, so I’m pretty satisfied with it :d

    Anyways, I’ll be getting both books when they come out, so it’s nice to know how they would look like :)

  3. warriorhope permalink
    May 4, 2010 1:20 pm

    I like the “my girlfriend is a geek” cover. They seem to be a better job at covers snce Spice and Wolf 1.

  4. May 4, 2010 4:12 pm

    What a coincidence! I was just looking at Hachette’s release catalog the other day ^^
    I’m liking “My Girlfriend is a Geek”‘s cover :3 (part of my wants to think “kinky” at those “handcuff” things though haha)
    Book Girl’s cover…hmm…I don’t know. For some reason, the cover looks as if it was burned (or like, done on really old parchment). It makes the female character on the cover stand out a little awkwardly but that may be me.
    I’m still buying it 8D

  5. May 9, 2010 10:20 am

    I don’t really like the look of the Book Girl cover. It just looks a bit strange and ordinary. My Girlfriend’s a Geek is much more appealing in terms of appearance, but ironically the one I want to read more is still Book Girl

  6. May 9, 2010 5:24 pm

    @Xiao: doi, how did I not notice it was supposed to be burnt; that definitely explains why the “crop job” looks weird. xD Yeah, it is strange…they’ve got a few months though, so they might change it, you never know. :]

    @Daimio: I think that’s pretty likely (I know exactly what you mean, it looked horrendous on the computer, but much better in person, though still not good).
    I think they did a great job with the Fujoshi Kanojo cover too. :3

    @Warriorhope: I think they’ve realized that they have to at least try and keep the original cover somewhat, and it shows. :]

    @sylphalchemist: haha, great minds think alike? :]
    (you are totally not the only one thinking the handcuffs are kinky xD)
    I’m hoping it looks better in person, like the S&W 1 cover did.
    I’m planning on buying it too~ :3

    @lostty: Hopefully it will look better in person than it does on the computer (I think it will, I like a lot of covers better in person, though that could just be me, haha). I don’t really blame you, Book Girl sounds like it has a much more interesting story (though Fujoshi Kanojo sounds interesting in its own way).

  7. vannila321 permalink
    May 9, 2010 7:25 pm

    The cover of book girl looks fake and un-realish O.O sorry for a ramdom comment all of a sudden since I’m new ‘^.^

    • May 9, 2010 8:23 pm

      haha, that seems to be the consensus. :]

      And I love comments~ :D Feel free to comment anytime!

Leave a Reply

