Skip to content

Fushigi Yûgi [VIZBIG Edition] Volume 5

May 18, 2010

Fushigi Yûgi [VIZBIG Edition] volume 5
by:
Yuu Watase
Published by: Viz Media [Shojo Beat/VIZBIG imprint]
from the publisher: Yui summons Seiryu and uses one of her wishes to make Nakago a god. She then sends Miaka back to the real world to separate her from Tamahome, but Tamahome holds on to Miaka, and the couple is sent to present-day Japan together. Suboshi follows Yui to Japan, intent on destroying Miaka for Yui. Simultaneous battles rage in both The Universe of the Four Gods and in present-day Japan, and Celestial Warriors die. But Yui is soon to discover that having her wishes granted comes at a great personal price…
my ramblings: This was one of my birthday presents from my parents~ In other news, there will probably be a little bit of a slow-down here for the next few months. I’m going to SDCC at the end of July and until then I’m really going to try and save my money (so I can spend it all there, haha), so I probably won’t be buying too much until then. I still have a ton on light novels/Haikasoru titles to read though, so once I’m out of school (end of May), I’ll probably breeze through those and post about them.

Also, new banner/header featuring the two main characters from Ayumi Komura’s newest serial, Usotsuki Lily (Liar Lily). It’s rather blank, but I really like it. :]

Now back to your regularly scheduled review.

The usual VIZBIG ramblings go here. ;] But seriously, I really do love the VIZBIG line. Hopefully we’ll see more of them in the future (though I’m not really going to hope too much right now due to the current VIZ situation *sad face*).

Volume 13 of the original series (the first included in VIZBIG 5), is the end of the first part of Fushigi Yûgi and it would have served as a perfectly satisfying end to the series for me. The story however, goes on for another 5 volumes…

Warriorhope warned me before that after volume 13, things would get weird, but I didn’t realize just how weird they would get. My roommate just recently started reading my copies of the series and I told her she’d probably want to just stop after volume 13, because it really does get weird. There’s a perfectly good end to the series at the end of volume 13, and starting in volume 14 (the second volume in VIZBIG 5) is what Watase calls “part 2” of the story, aka, it’s a completely different story. It’s incredibly disjointed from the first part of the story. I have a feeling that the only reason the series continues was due to editors that didn’t want to loose a cash cow. Luckily, it works in its own way (though that doesn’t make it any less strange); Watase was able to pull on a different aspect of the Suzaku legends to create the second half of the story and it does kind of work, but I’m still not sure if I like it.

I still highly recommend the series, despite how strange it gets after volume 13. If you want just an ending to the series, I suppose I suggest just buying the original volume 13 and not VIZBIG 5, but with just one more VIZBIG volume after this, it seems like a bit of a shame. I’ll definitely be buying the final volume when it comes out next month to see how Watase pulls off yet another ending (and then I’ll be getting Genbu Kaiden, as I’ve been assured it’s tons of times better than the original).

7 Comments leave one →
  1. May 18, 2010 12:46 pm

    Liking your new banner
    For a minute I thought the one with green eyes was a girl but then I went to read a description for the manga and found out she was a he
    Haha, oh gender benders. They never cease to surprise me.

    Awesome you can read through novels so fast
    It usually takes me awhile before I get to a good part
    Then I breeze through it ^^

    Back to your review
    I think this is where in the anime I was all =_=; huh?
    (I think the OVA was like, based on part II right? I may be wrong since it’s been awhile and I wasn’t paying too much attention to the anime anymore haha)

    I hope you’ll like FYGK because it is love ~
    I really love that series :3
    But I stopped on vol 5 bc this series was temporarily halted in Japan so the manga-ka could work on something else
    I must start again here soon ~

  2. warriorhope permalink
    May 18, 2010 9:34 pm

    Green~ I like the banner too. I’m going to try out Mixed Vegatables soon too, since you and few other people have said such nice things about. Also cooking series=epic wing…

    Yay~ I’m reviewing the arc in a few weeks so can I quote you in my introduction post?

    Yeah, it is sad. Viz is still doing fairly well all things consider though. I think they might be releasing Maison Ikkouku into Big editon soon too, because some of the early volumes of the 2nd edition are now out of print. Shojo might be harder though. :/

    There are good things about the arc, but I think she should have just done an SC Encore type thing ie. side stories about the warriors, which was really the best part of the arc. I also love volume 13 a lot, so I’m kind of jaded. The ending is good for Part 2, but it’s not really as effective as the end of volume 13. Oh and there is a big WTF mini-arc coming up in volume 17 or so. I won’t spoil it, but yeah. ****************************’s side arc is fun in volume 16 though.

    FYGK is awesome. It really shows how far she’s come as a writer and artist since the orignal series.

  3. May 19, 2010 1:17 am

    @sylphalchemist:
    heh. :3 I wondered how many people it would get. No one has scanned it yet, but I love Komura’s art, and I keep seeing so much of it on the Margaret homepage that I knew I had to make a banner for the series (I was going to do Mixed Vegetables, since there’s only 1 more volume, but there are no usable images :[ ). Genderbenders amuse me most of the time; there have a been a few times I know I was not amused (though I don’t remember what in), but for the most part I love it~

    I read super fast (when I was little I could breeze through a book at a crazy rate, which is why my eyesight got worse and I had to get glasses, lol) most of the time, but that’s when I read. Lately I’ve been super lazy and haven’t read too many actual novels. :/ I did just breeze through like 90 pages of The Stories of Ibis after seeing your review, which reminded me that I had the book sitting on my bedside thingy. :D

    I have no idea about the anime, since I’ve yet to see it (bad me, I know). I’ve heard that it does get weird though, and I think this is where.

    I agree that Watase has gotten so much better in recent years (my favorites of hers are Alice 19th and Ceres which are both much more recent, and Arata is good so far too), so I’m sure I will love it~ :D (as soon as I get around to buying it, haha.)

    @warriorhope:
    yes~ I just adore green (my room is painted lime green, haha). It is a great cooking series too~ They got someone in the food industry to do the adaptation, so all the food stuff is explained in the back and it’s just so well done. I really hope if they pick up YumePati they get someone to do the same thing for it!

    Of course! Feel free to quote away~

    I would probably pick up Maison Ikkoku in VIZBIG. I would actually pick up almost anything from Rumiko Takahashi in VIZBIG, since they’re all fairly long and I don’t have any of them. I agree that shojo would be harder though. :[

    An Encore! like collection of side stories would definitely have been better. My favorite part of the 2 volumes was seeing Hotohori’s son~ He was just so cute! :D I would love to have seen stories about some of the supporting characters too. It’s good to hear that the ending works though. :]

    She’s definitely come a far way as a writer, but I especially love how far she’s come as an artist. Her more recent works are so much more clean and streamlined and much easier to read than her early works.

    Oh, and completely random, but you should check out the Bihada Ichizoku anime if you have the chance. It’s like old-school shojo anime lulz. The first 4 episodes just got subbed and they’re only like 9 minutes each. I think you’d totally appreciate it. :]

  4. May 19, 2010 2:10 am

    Yeah…I own the first 14 volumes of the manga. Number 14 I bought and read at home. After that one I just read the rest in the store.

    Ah~ Such old memories of a time where I was only slightly aware of manga online. I never read in the store anymore. Then again I can drive, so I usually go to the mall by myself, thus I don’t have to wait for an hour for my mom to get out of Bath and Body Works anymore…

    And to think! The anime series supposedly adds not one, but two more stories in the OVAs. Plus this one. Though I can’t speak from experience because I totally avoided those like the plague after reading the manga.

    But I would love for Viz to release something I haven’t read in VIZBIG. I am totally loving Omnibus releases, but the only ones I’m buying that I already have are the CLAMP ones. Because TokyoPop’s old releases all piss me off for one reason or another. Usually for when they added their stupid red logo. My god that thing is hideous, looks like some big sticker you should be able to just peel off. And it was sooo much worse when they were switching to it, because you’d end up with only one book in a collection having it. -_-

    Ahahaha~ But that’s enough ranting. This was a lovely review~ (Also, super jealous over SDCC)

    • May 19, 2010 11:29 am

      If I had been buying them when they came out singly, I definitely would have stopped buying them too.

      haha, ikr? I wasn’t ever actually big on reading in the store (I was always kind of bothered by the kids sitting on the floor reading, since my mom instilled a kind of mantra of “you buy it or you don’t read it” into me, lol). But I totally understand waiting for your mom in the bookstore. Though in my case, half the time my mom is done somewhere else before I’m done in the bookstore. :3

      Oh gosh! Another 2 stories? Oh companies trying to milk cash cows, when will you learn to let things die? :[

      Oh yes, I would looooove more VIZBIG for things I didn’t read (like anything Rumiko Takahashi [though InuYasha is already getting them] since I never got around to them). The CLAMP ones are pretty darn good so far. :] Ugh, I know exactly what you mean! The logo is bad enough, but switching it in the middle of a series makes me soooooo mad! When I look at my bookshelves and see a series that’s half one way and half the other it makes me so mad! xD

      There can never be enough ranting~ ;D And thanks~ (haha, I’m still kind of amazed that it’s actually happening, but I’m super excited too!)

Trackbacks

  1. Aftermath « MangaBlog
  2. Fushigi Yugi- Background/Rant | Bad Romance

Leave a Reply

