Skip to content

Alice in the Country of Hearts Volume 1

May 22, 2010

Alice in the Country of Hearts volume 1
Art by:
Soumei Hoshino
Story by: Quinrose
Published by: Tokyopop
from the publisher: A sudden kidnapping and a dark, mysterious hole…Handsome men with guns and bunny ears…A suspicious game of survival…Wonderland is officially at war! And Alice is trapped in the middle of it all. Will she ever make it out alive? A little arrogant, stubborn and determined to get back home, Alice isn’t fazed by these challenges…until she wanders the strange country only to find that every man is weirdly in love with her and all the inhabitants are gun crazy and ready to kill without remorse. What is going on in Wonderland?!…A hilarious, dangerous tale of Alice the likes of which you’ve never seen before!
my ramblings: First, I have to thank my awesome roommate for buying the first two volumes of this series for me for my birthday~ I haven’t bought like anything for myself lately, and I really did want this series, so hooray~ :D (also, it makes me happy that she stalked my blog to find ideas and saw my suggestion post.) Also, major thanks to both sylphalchemist and cookie for recommending the series in the first place! :D

I’m rather confused as to why Tokyopop decided to change the cover from the Japanese version (I know it happens occasionally with all the publishers, but it’s usually because of boobs or something else that could be considered pervy). The cover looks fine, and I really like the design, but I don’t know why the Japanese cover image wasn’t used; Especially when they seem to have changed back to the Japanese covers from volumes 2 and forward. Again, the use of this image isn’t bad per-say, it’s just strange that Tokyopop felt the need to change it.

I don’t think I found any grammar or spelling errors or typos while reading through this volume, which was extra nice. I didn’t like the addition of rhyming to Peter’s character though. I’ve heard from other people online that he didn’t do that in the Japanese version, and it’s just a weird addition. I suppose they’re trying to make him more like the rabbit from the Alice in Wonderland movie, but as he’s clearly not the same character, it doesn’t really make sense.

Speaking of characters, I absolutely adored Alice. She’s just spunky. She complains when a bishie makes her mad and worries about others when they do things she doesn’t like. And speaking of bishies, I just can’t decide who I like the best. No, that’s a lie, Blood kind of freaks me out and Peter is kind of annoying with his constant need to bother Alice. Other than that I love them all. I’m not quite sure what I think of Vivaldi yet, I’ll have to wait and see where her character goes before I decide any more.

Overall, I definitely have to agree with everyone who rec’ed this to me; it’s awesome. If you’re up for lots of bishies and a heroine who knows how to deal with them, this is a definite buy. ;] Oh, and I want that OVA Quinrose promised ages ago. :P

9 Comments leave one →
  1. warriorhope permalink
    May 22, 2010 2:04 pm

    I’m not overly fond of the series, but Alice is awesome. She’s so cool for an otome game heroine who are usually pretty personalityless. And she’s saracatic too.

    Tokyopop covers always kinnd of bug me because of that. It always looks too overdone, except in the case of Kakeriai Odette and few other series.

  2. May 23, 2010 7:07 am

    I think the thing with Alice is that it’s a lot darker than you would first think… there’s a lot of psychological aspects which aren’t going to come out til the very end. So it kind of makes it a bit more interesting than your average reverse-harem manga c:

  3. Rin permalink
    May 23, 2010 11:16 am

    Oh I love Heart no Kuni no Alice! It’s a shame they stopped scanalating, but good that I can buy them/ read at the book store. I notice the cover is way different than the original Japanese, but I like it better. Mostly because it supports my Peter x Alice pairing.

  4. May 25, 2010 5:54 pm

    Yeah ~
    Praise to your roommate for getting you the manga volumes, thus pushing you to join the Heart no Kuni no Alice fandom ~ 8D
    I’m a Boris x Alice fan all the way (though I do slip and like me some Julius x Alice haha)

    Blood looks nice on the eyes but I don’t like his personality too much (then again, he is the “mad” hatter for a reason ^^;)
    Peter is alright but he’s no Boris (sorry Rin)

    Alice is the other reason I read the series. I just like her character. Her comments make me lol ~
    It would be great if Tokyopop also brought over the Clover no Kuni no Alice series
    (those manga follow certain pairings – like Ace x Alice, Boris x Alice, etc.)
    (actually, maybe Yenpress because the Clover no Kuni no Alice series have colored inserts and I don’t like the way Tokyopop prints their colored inserts in B&W – just not the same :<)

    I also second a desire to see the OVA

  5. May 27, 2010 8:20 am

    This sounds remarkably interesting; I need to check it out xD
    The bloody spin to wonderland itself is nice to begin but a heroine who knows how to deal with her reverse harem? Want~ d(^_^ d)

  6. May 27, 2010 11:35 pm

    @warriorhope: She really is awesome for an otome heroine! I mean, I love the Hakuouki anime adaptation, but Chizuru only kind of has a personality.

    Yeah, I’m not a fan of most Tokyopop covers, though this one I think is alright (though slightly overdone).

    @cookie: It really was a lot darker than I expected (I was surprised at the whole pyschological dream/not a dream sequence, but definitely not in a bad way).

    @Rin: I much prefer buying books to scans, but I understand. :] And yeah, the cover is a lot different, but the next volumes go back to using the Japanese covers. ;]

    @sylphalchemist: oh, yes~ I was so surprised when I opened the bag and saw them. xD She was like “I wasn’t sure what to get you, so I stalked your blog and saw your birthday suggestion post and saw this there.” I was rolling. xD

    Yeah, I thought I might like Blood at first, but then he starting being all sorts of an ass and I was like, nope, I don’t think so. :/

    hehe, I think Boris is definitely my favorite of the bishies, but I’m not sure if I support him and Alice.

    I would love to see Clover no Kuni no Alice too~ It’s always nice to get to see a specific pairing and not just a general series (though since I still can’t decide, I guess general is best for me for right now, haha). (oh gosh, I approve of Yen getting anything because they do put color inserts in!)

    @Aorii: Oh yes. Alice gets a little huffy or flustered sometimes (though it’s usually from having been dropped in Wonderland), but she does know how to deal with most of the harem and it’s fun to see her yelling at them few specific members. :3

  7. October 31, 2010 2:07 pm

    I got this at my book fair on Thursday, and it had the original japanese cover (for some reason) and I knew I couldn’t pass it up :3
    The story is great ^^ hopefully it`ll get popular enough for the game to come….although not sure if it`s a console or PC game *shot*.

    • October 31, 2010 2:38 pm

      omg, I’m jealous~ I really wish my copy had the original cover!

      I believe it’s a PC game…there’s a company that’s looking at bringing over more otome games, so it’s not out of the realm of possibilites~ Go check out sylphalchemist’s blog for more info on that though. :]

Trackbacks

  1. Translation talk, Tamai, and To Terra « MangaBlog

Leave a Reply

