Skip to content

Trinity Blood: Rage Against the Moons Volume 4: Judgment Day

May 25, 2010

Trinity Blood: Rage Against the Moons volume 4: Judgment Day
by:
Sunao Yoshida
published by: Tokyopop
from the publisher: Cardinal Caterina Sforza is on death row for heresy and high treason. Her loyal AX Agents travel to the snowy mountains of Tallinn to find a man named Cheribum, who has the evidence of Caterina’s innocence. Along the way, they uncover a plot against Rome that involves human-machine soldiers, double-agents, and vampire terrorists. Can this motley crew save Caterina and the human world in time?
my ramblings: Overall, this volume was pretty well done. The cover is that kind of “floppy” type like Karakuri Odette volume 2, and made it feel like I was going to break the book the whole time I was reading it, but the binding didn’t even break so it’s not really a major issue. I kind of have an issue with the cover. Other than the fact that Tokyopop choose not to use the original Japanese covers for all the Trinity Blood novels, this one in particular is not good at all; if you think it looks kind of blurry here, it looks worse printed. It took me a long time to realize that Caterina is the one on the front…if I didn’t know what Trinity Blood was and hadn’t been buying the novels beforehand, I wouldn’t even have thought about picking this up because of the cover.

On the plus side, I didn’t catch any typos, though I did catch a few times where words were left out (mostly the word “the” which I thought was a weird coincidence). It was always easy to tell what the word that was left out was supposed to be, but it was still kind of an inconvenience to have to guess. Examples of other words left out (or added in) include, “…but now it the snowfall was light” (pg 119) and “I would like you introduce former Archbishop of Cologne, Alfonso d’Este.” (pg 152). The last one is especially funny because it leaves out the word “it” twice in one sentence. Also, and this is just because I know some Spanish, but they never use tildes. I’m almost positive that “senora” is not a word, and that is is supposed to be “señora” with the tilde over the n; I could be wrong, but I’m pretty sure my native Spanish professors would disagree. ;]

There seemed to be more illustrations than usual in this volume and some of them were smaller than the previous volumes. I’m not sure if this means that there were illustrations left out of the previous volumes or there were just more in this one, but it’s a nice addition. On the other hand, many times the illustrations would be a few pages before or after the events in the book, so it was a bit confusing at times.

The book is basically two stories, the second of which is a sort of prequel to the first one. They’re not directly related, but there are mentions of the second story in the first that you don’t understand until you finish the book. The plot definitely drug me in though; I read the whole thing in two sittings (only because I was exhausted during the first one, so I finished it the next day). At the beginning I was rather confused as the last Trinity Blood novel I read was from the second series, Reborn on the Mars and it was months ago, but I kept reading and eventually realized what was going on (it took about 20 pages, I think). After that I just couldn’t put the book down; I loved every minute of it (it only took me like 3/4 hours to read, lol).

I definitely suggest the Trinity Blood novels (both Reborn on the Mars and Rage Against the Moons); they are vampires done right.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 25, 2010 6:08 pm

    Gah, I forgot the 4th book in this series was released already D8
    *bad sylphalchemist bad*

    Sad to hear the condition of the book is kind of flimsy :<
    (had a Vampire Doll volume like that – was so worried that breathing directly on the volume would cause it to fall apart xD)

    I need to reread the other 3 books in the Rage Against the Moons series again
    (already forgot what happened xD)
    I also need to get the other Trinity Blood light novel series being released: Reborn on the Mars
    (I didn't get that series yet because I thought I needed to read Rage Against the Moons first)

    Glad to see this volume was good ~
    Now I'm excited to get my own copy here soon :3

    • May 27, 2010 11:37 pm

      It only came out a few weeks ago. :]

      haha, it’s not too bad if you don’t reread first, but it would probably make things a lot easier. xD (speaking from experience, haha.)

      Trinity Blood: Reborn on the Mars is really good too (I actually prefer it, cuz I love Esther and she’s only in ROM). They were released simultaneously in Japan, so while RAM does come first, you can read ROM at the same time. :]

Leave a Reply

