Skip to content

Black Bird Volume 4

June 18, 2010

Black Bird volume 4
by:
Kanoko Sakurakoji
Published by: Viz Media [Shojo Beat imprint]
from the publisher: Despite the constant danger Misao finds herself in, she’s determined to stay by Kyo’s side no matter what happens. But a chance meeting with one of Kyo’s best friends shows her just how hard a human-demon relationship can be. Tadanobu, heir to the Kitsune clan, gave up everything to be with his human girlfriend. But now he is being forced to take on the clan leadership and abandon his love–and it’s all Kyo’s fault!
my ramblings: I started reading this in my dermatologists waiting room and I felt so incredibly dirty reading it in public; This series is still definitely a guilty pleasure.
To be honest, if Kyo were a real guy, I would probably hit him for every other thing out of his mouth (not that I’m not already guilty of hitting my male friends for being pervs). I love being a perv as much as the next person, but Sakurakoji has really taken Kyo to the next level of dirty-mindedness.
I actually really liked the mini-arc in this volume. Misao finally has to think about the fact that other clan leaders may have people they’re in love with and that by her being the Senka Maiden, they might just have to give their love up for the sake of their clans. Even worse, she becomes friends with the other girl, Ren, before she finds out that Ren and Kyo’s friend Tadanobu are involved. I like Misao because she is fighting for her love, and yet still feels horrendous for stopping other people’s love. Trying to find a way around both those situations isn’t easy, but it gets done (spoilers?).
I’m really glad this series seems to be doing well for Viz (this volume was on the NYtimes manga best-sellers list for a whole month before falling off), because while it’s pervy, it’s really a lot of fun to read. I know some people have a problem with the series, and in general I understand those concerns, but this series isn’t really intended for anyone that can’t understand the difference between fiction and reality.
I still definitely suggest this series for people who like a little bit smuttier (it’s only really borderline smut), bloodier shojo.

12 Comments leave one →
  1. warriorhope permalink
    June 18, 2010 4:39 pm

    I like this cover the best of all the black bird covers (because she isn’t crying for once). It’s very pretty.

    • June 18, 2010 7:27 pm

      haha, it is really the best of the first 4 covers. :]

      My favorite of all 10 (and the novel) so far though is volume 10. It’s weird for me that she has blood like everywhere, but it’s gorgeous.

      (here are all the covers 5-10+novel if you’re interested: 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, novel.)

      • warriorhope permalink
        June 19, 2010 3:58 pm

        OH~ 10 is pretty. I love birdcages though so…I also like 8 for some reason.

  2. Risa-chan permalink
    June 27, 2010 7:34 pm

    How do you make more the 1 article with a click able title? Thank you!!!

    • June 27, 2010 8:16 pm

      um…to be quite honest, I’m not entirely sure what you’re asking, sorry. If you’re looking to have more than one post, simply click “new post” in your dashboard. If you want a post with multiple pages, here’s a nice tutorial. I hope that helped some!!

  3. June 29, 2010 2:55 pm

    Whoa, a super perv?
    Now I MUST get this series :3
    (I shall move this up on my list of books to read – pervert was the magic word xD)

    Black Bird even has a novel? SCORE!
    Wonder if Viz will bring that over? :3

    • June 29, 2010 7:35 pm

      He really is. It makes me lol most of the time. xD

      I really hope they pick up the novel and they did get the Hot Gimmick novel, so it doesn’t seem too unlikely~ I’m not sure if it’s just like a random side-story though or it needs to be read after a certain point in the manga, so I’m not sure when they would be likely to announce it.

  4. October 31, 2010 2:16 pm

    I love this series. I once saw it this volume at a store and was like “meh” then read it online. I fell in love with it, and was hoping it`d be at the store, which it wasn’t (my luck). I`ll have to actually start buying it soon…(I have too big of a wishlist.) I like the covers too, especially how kyo`s eye colors change to the volume`s theme color. ^^

    • October 31, 2010 2:39 pm

      I really love the covers too~ Glad someone else noticed that his eyes change to match the cover too! :D

      I’m a little behind now…I need to get volumes 5 and 6. :[

      • November 16, 2010 6:07 am

        I didn’t realize at first, until one time I was looking at volume colors and was like “hey!”. Viz releases pretty fast…faster than some other publishers.

        • November 18, 2010 10:02 pm

          They are pretty quick, though sometimes that makes it hard to keep up, haha. xD

Trackbacks

  1. Monday morning roundup « MangaBlog

Leave a Reply

