Skip to content

Full Metal Panic! (novels) Volumes 1-2

August 20, 2010

Full Metal Panic! (novels) volumes 1-2
by:
Shouji Gatou
published by: Tokyopop
from the publisher: Jindai High School was a relatively safe place, right up until Sousuke Sagaka transferred there. A total nut, he wreaks havoc on the school’s student body and gets into a world of trouble with the teachers! But there’s more to Sousuke than meets the eye–not just a hell-raising student, he’s actually a member of an elite military unit, on an undercover mission to protect the beautiful schoolgirl Kaname Chidori from the KGB.
my ramblings: I really enjoyed both of these volumes. They were my beach fare for the week and they did the job perfectly. Since they are light novels, they were a super

easy read (a couple hours each), and I actually didn’t notice too many editing errors at all.
In some ways, I really prefer novels (in general, and not just light novels) as you almost always get a full story in one go, and not just part of a story. There may be an overarching plot for multiple books, but in one book you see the resolution of some problem, that you never really get in manga (unless it’s a oneshot). For me, it’s just kind of nice to not be left hanging and, while I love seeing series completed, it also makes it easier to see series incomplete.
Like I said earlier, I really didn’t notice too many errors in these volumes, and the adaptation flowed really well. The story itself is really interesting; I’m not really one for mecha (though I do love Gundam Wing), and I wasn’t really sure how I’d feel about a mecha in a novel where I’m not really seeing it, but I think it works well. All the characters are really interesting, and Gatou just makes it a fun read.
I really, really, really hope that Tokyopop reprints the first 3 volumes before they do their omnibus of 4 and 5 next February because I know I don’t want to pay $50 for a light novel that’s out of print. I got lucky by finding the first two in my local Barnes and Noble for list prices, but I still need volume 3 and like I said, I don’t want to have to buy a used copy for $50, and I would never wish that on anyone who wants to get into the series. Tokyopop will have a serious missed chance if they choose not to do at least a minimal amount of reprints (I realize that you can only do so small an order, but it’s going to be necessary if they want people to buy future books). :[ I suppose another option would be to get these up on Zinio, I know a lot of the Japanese publishers have issues with online publishing, but I think it’s worth a try!
If you can find the series for list price, or if Tokyopop does choose to reprint them, definitely check them out; they’re fun and an easy read. (I just can’t tell anyone to get them for $50 each, because while I liked it, I sure wouldn’t have gotten them!) I’m going to have to check out the anime now, to see how things differ.

EDIT: If you’re in Canada, you’re partially in luck, Amazon.ca still has volumes 1 and 3 in stock and for normal prices (not volume 2 though). I’m pretty sure I’m going to be ordering volume 3 from Amazon.ca here in the next few weeks. Thank goodness for Tokyopop having the English rights for Canada too!! :D

5 Comments leave one →
  1. August 22, 2010 12:43 am

    Oh wow
    I didn’t realize these books were already out of print AND expensive D:

    I have all three so far (surprisingly!) and I must say that even though I’m not a mecha fan as well, I did enjoy the novels :3
    I most definitely am looking forward to reading the omnibus version in the future (heck, I’m happy there is going to be future volumes released!)
    (hopefully TP does do the smart thing and re-releases the previous novels, else people who don’t have the earlier volumes are going to be screwed over :<)

    • August 30, 2010 12:38 pm

      Yup, they’re going for some out of control prices. Luckily I remembered that and bought them when I saw them. :3

      I’m super excited that Tokyopop is going to release more~ And omnibus versions are the best! :D

  2. Laura permalink
    September 9, 2010 2:53 pm

    Well, you’ve got to watch the anime of Full Metal Panic – all of them. It’s one of my favorite series, that I can watch over and over again because I love the chemistry of Sousake and Kaname. FUMOFFU will have you in stitches. TSR made me cry. So don’t miss out on any of it.

    I’ve read the GNs by the way. Love them too!

    • September 10, 2010 3:16 pm

      I keep planning to watch the series too! Thankfully FUNimation just re-released the first two seasons~ :D

Trackbacks

  1. Full Metal Panic! Review | lite reading

Leave a Reply

