Skip to content

Flower of the Deep Sleep Volumes 1-2 [all]

August 29, 2010

Flower of the Deep Sleep volumes 1-2 [complete]
by:
Yuana Kazumi
Published by: Tokyopop
from the publisher: Yuuki has the power to dream of the future, but with such a gift comes a great burden. Can she manipulate what’s about to happen? And more importantly, should she?

my ramblings: First off, gosh I’ve been lazy lately, haven’t I? D: I have like 10 posts sitting in my drafts waiting for me to finish them. Hopefully when I get back to school I’ll be better at posting (yeah…I get lazy during the summer and actually do things like blog during the school year).

I picked this short series up on eBay after really, really liking the author’s HaruHana (also from Tokyopop). I had read that a lot of Kazumi’s earlier works were more psychological rather than pure comedy (which HaruHana is), but it still had some of the comedy elements I really liked in HaruHana.

The main complaint I have with the series is that it’s too short. I don’t normally say that because I hate when series are drug out way past their time (*cough*ShonenJumpSeries*cough*), but the story really could have been developed a whole lot better with even just one more volume, though it would have been nice to see even more than that, because the premise was a really good one.

I love, love, love Yuana Kazumi’s art, especially when it’s in color. In black and white, the art can be a little busy which makes it hard to comprehend what’s going on (especially when they’re pages that were obviously in color in the first place), but in color, it’s just gorgeous. The covers look a whole lot like they were done in watercolors and I just adore it.

I think I mentioned this in my review of HaruHana, but I really, really like that the styling of the covers for all of Kazumi’s series is the same (see the cover of HaruHana here). The images are all vastly different and this series has a lot more white space, but they seem to use the same font and the Tokyopop bar on the side is mostly the same. It’s probably silly, but I like the use of the same thing for works by the same author.

I don’t think I noticed too many issues with editing. I seem to remember one error, but since I can’t remember off the top of my head, it must not have been too bad of an error. I really hope Tokyopop picks up a few more of Kazumi’s works; it looks like most of them are 2-volume series, and they could easily do what they did with HaruHana and publish it all in one omnibus.

Like I said with HaruHana, I really did enjoy this series, but I’m not sure it would be for everyone. If you find a cheap set online or in a used bookstore, try it out, but otherwise, most people might not think it was worth it.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. warriorhope permalink
    August 31, 2010 8:38 pm

    Her art looks pretty. I’ll try to find it next time I’m at the comic shop.

    Off topic: I love your new banner~

    • August 31, 2010 11:27 pm

      The cover for her newest series in Japan is my favorite so far~ (it’s here at MAL.)

      off topic response: yay~ Thanks!! :D I was soooo excited when I found the image, I just knew I had to use it! :D (I’ve been watching It Started With a Kiss, so I was all hyped up on ItaKiss, haha)

  2. September 1, 2010 12:35 pm

    Yeah, a manga I’ve read :D
    I agree on the length – truly would have liked the series more if it was a bit longer (to explain things more and to have some more character interactions)
    This manga-ka’s cover arts so are pretty @_@ Love the “water-color” style she has

    Also: cute header :3

    • September 1, 2010 12:51 pm

      Exactly, it just didn’t explain enough. :[

      That’s why I picked up HaruHana in the first place, I couldn’t resist the gorgeous cover~ Well, the whole complete in one omnibus thing didn’t hurt either. ;]

      thanks~ :D

Trackbacks

  1. A moveable feast « MangaBlog

Leave a Reply

