Skip to content

Fushigi Yûgi: Genbu Kaiden Volumes 1-3

October 24, 2010

Fushigi Yûgi: Genbu Kaiden volumes 1-3
by:
Yuu Watase
Published by: Viz Media [Shojo Beat imprint]
from the publisher: When schoolgirl Takiko Okuda attempts to destroy her father’s translation of The Universe of the Four Gods, she is instead sucked into the story, becoming the Priestess of Genbu in an epic journey to find the seven Celestial Warriors!

my ramblings: I finally bought the first six volumes of Genbu Kaiden, so I’ve decided to make it into two posts, so things don’t get too crazy (I feel like covering six volumes in one review isn’t doing anyone any good). I’ll have another post with volumes 7-9 when I’m able to pick them up. I’ll also have a post on Demon Sacred by Natsumi Itsuki in between the two first posts, so it’s not a total Genbu overload (because as much as I love Genbu Kaiden, I know that’s a bit much).

Now I know why everyone kept telling me how much better Genbu Kaiden was as opposed to the original series. I can’t believe it took me this long to finally start this series! It really is awesome! I really, really enjoyed the original series, but, like I was told time and time again, the prequel is even better than the original. If you’ve only read the original, you’re very much missing out.

In the first few pages of volume one, I already liked Takiko more than I liked Miaka, and I didn’t even really dislike Miaka, so that’s saying something. Takiko just has so much more of a backbone that Miaka ever did, it’s awesome to see a heroine who knows what she wants and also doesn’t have a problem being able to admit when she was wrong and work to fix things. Also, she uses a naginata, which is just kind of bad ass. Not to mention that by the end of the third volume, Takiko has been able to find four of the seven warriors (technically eight as you find out in volume 3 and understand more in later volumes).

I’m not sure if it’s just the translation, but I love that Limdo calls his ability to switch genders a “personal quirk.” The translation in general flows really well and the editing is great. I still can’t believe it took me this long to pick this series up… I really hope Viz licenses volume 9.5 and the novel that’s based on the series as well (I believe the novel focuses on Limdo’s back-story, which is touched on in volume 2).

4 Comments leave one →
  1. warriorhope permalink
    October 24, 2010 7:06 pm

    Takiko is awesome, and I feel her background is a bit more concreate compared to Miaka”s. I’m expecting even more deaths later in ther series.

    Also, love how all the warriors arn’t pretty boys unlike the orignal series (not that there’s anything wrong with that).

    “It really is awesome! I really, really enjoyed the original series, but, like I was told time and time again, the prequel is even better than the original. ”
    It was the same for me, heh. It took me awhile to get in to it.

  2. October 27, 2010 2:02 pm

    Yay, you finally got to reading Genbu :D
    Definitely a favorite of mine.
    Maybe because Yui isn’t there – it annoyed me how she tried to screw Miaka over ever step of the way. Like come on! What happened to BFF!? You going to take some creeper’s words over your own friend’s? D:

    Now that the series is back up and running again, I can resume collecting ^^ (<–stopped at vol 5)

    I would love it if VIZ did pick up the novel (heck I didn't even know there was one…fail for me haha). If this gets as popular as Hot Gimmick, then maybe? (I'm assuming Hot Gimmick was popular since it went into the BIG format and had its light novel translated)
    (Would love it even more if VIZ released the old FY novels too *wishful thinking*)

    BTW I'm interested in seeing your review for Demon Sacred by Natsumi Itsuki (it's such a good price)

  3. October 27, 2010 3:21 pm

    @warriorhope: I definitely think Takiko has more of a backstory; Watase has just been getting progressively better with her story telling~ :D I’m guessing there will be deaths everywhere. :[

    I didn’t really think about that (though lol how did I not notice???), but that is really awesome~ (I especially love Mamame~)

    @sylphalchemist: yesh~ And I’m soooo glad I did!

    haha, Yui really was bothersome (though she definitely got better in the second part of the series, one of the only good things about Part 2 of the original…)

    Yeah, I’m guessing Hot Gimmick must have been big (though I personally hate the series with a passion, I couldn’t get past volume 1), but I’d love to see the Genbu novel, so I hope it gets as popular, though the irregular schedule may have hurt it. :[ (omg, I would kill for the original novels, and the Ceres ones too~)

    Demon Sacred post is scheduled for tomorrow~ :D Spoiler, I really loved the first two volumes. ;)

Trackbacks

  1. Monday news roundup « MangaBlog

Leave a Reply

