Skip to content

2011 Preview Part 3: Oneshots

December 28, 2010

Part 3 of the 2011 manga preview is oneshot volumes. I personally love oneshots for the simple fact that they’re a tiny investment. It’s one volume and you’re done. Plus I’m a bit biased towards this list in particular because Mistress Fortune by Arina Tanemura is one of my most-looked-forward-to titles for early next year. It’s dorky and adorable and Arina in-jokes abound. Like I said, I love oneshots.

Hopefully I’ll fail less at getting all the known oneshots coming out in 2011, but as always, definitely let me know if I’m missing something!!  And as always, enjoy~

Mistress Fortune by: Arina Tanemura
Publisher: Viz Media/Shojo Beat
Release Date: February 1
From the Publisher: Fourteen-year-old Kisaki Tachikawa has psychic powers. She works for PSI, a secret government agency that fights aliens. She’s in love with her partner Giniro, but PSI won’t allow operatives to get involved. Just when Kisaki thinks she may be getting closer to Giniro, she finds out she is to be transferred to California!
My Ramblings: Like I said above, I love everything about this oneshot~ It’s cute and admittedly kind of nonsensical, but Kisaki is love and beware that I’m going to fangirl the crap out of it when it gets released. I have a feeling it’s not going to get good reviews because it is so silly, but really people, it’s just a fun little oneshot, 3 chapter series. Love it for what it is, I beg you!

Dance in the Vampire Bund Gaiden: Dive in the Vampire Bund by: Nozomu Tamaki
Publisher: Seven Seas
Release Date: March 29
From the Publisher: The Vampire Bund, a peaceful island nation of vampires off the coast of Tokyo, ruled by Princess Mina Tepes, has seen its share of conflict and turmoil. Yet there are times of relative tranquility when the Bund is a popular tourist destination.
When two teenage tourists visit the Bund and are unexpectedly turned into vampires, they appeal to Mina and her loyal lycanthrope bodyguard, Akira, for help. Their only hope is to find a cure to reverse their vampirism within forty eight hours, or they will be stuck as vampires forever.
Unfortunately for them, their race against time turns into a game of cat and mouse that takes them across the entire Bund in pursuit of the one person who holds the key to their salvation.
My Ramblings: Not something I’m particularly interested in, though it’s nice to see that Dance in the Vampire Bund has been doing at least relatively well for Seven Seas if they’re licensing a one-shot companion volume.

Lychee Light Club by: Usamaru Furuya
Publisher: Vertical
Release Date: April 19
From the Publisher: The Lychee Light Club is considered Usamaru Furuya’s breakthrough work. Originally designed as an experiemental project Lychee’s themes of youthful rebellion and deus ex machina destruction, and attractive designs eventually won over a new generation of readers and critics, leading the way for Furuya to take on his many recent high profile properties.
A surreal yet touching horror comedy Furuya’s Lychee Light Club that mixes elements of French Le Théâtre du Grand-Guignol and with modern day pop culture tropes and is set in modern day Tokyo. Shocking, sexy and innovative, the Lychee Light Club is at the pinnacle of modern day Japanese seinen manga (young adult comics).
My Ramblings: Um, this is an utterly shallow thing to say, but I’m probably going to check this out because I love lychee. Yeah. But in all seriousness, Furuya seems to be getting a lot of attention here in the US lately, so this is probably going to be something to pick up! Also, this is technically an omnibus as well, since it’s 2 volumes in one, but I thought it fit a little better here.

Onward Towards Our Noble Deaths by: Shigeru Mizuki
Publisher: drawn and quarterly
Release Date: May
From the Publisher: Onward Towards Our Noble Deaths, is his first book to be translated into English and is a semi-autobiographical account of the desperate final weeks of a Japanese infantry unit at the end of World War Two. The soldiers are instructed that they must go into battle and die for the honor of their country, with certain execution facing them if they return alive. Mizuki was a soldier himself (he was severely injured and lost an arm) and uses his experiences to convey the devastating consequences and moral depravity of the war.
My Ramblings: I’m going to be honest and say that I know nothing about this, but it will probably be top notch since it’s from D&Q.

The Strange Tale of Panorama Island by: Suehiro Maruo
Publisher: Last Gasp Books
Release Date: July 1
From the Publisher: Follow the twisted path of failed novelist Hitomi Hirosuke, who bears an uncanny resemblance to a former classmate, the son of a rich industrialist family. Learning of the rich man’s sudden passing, Hitomi fakes his own death, digs up and hides the other man’s body, and then washes himself up starving on a beach near the home of the dead man’s family.
My Ramblings: Another title I know very little about, but from the previews on Last Gasp’s website, this should be really interesting!

Book of Human Insects by: Osamu Tezuka
Publisher: Vertical
Release Date: July 12
From Deb Aoki: Ruthless and seductive Toshiko Tomura is the mistress of reinvention. As she becomes an actress, a designer and a novelist, she leaves a path of destruction in her wake.
My Ramblings: This is, uh, not what I typically think of when I think Tezuka, and I have a feeling many people are going to think that as well. But it certainly grabs the eye! (Though Vertical usually does something interesting/artsy with their covers, so I’m sure it won’t be the same thing as it is here [Japanese cover].) Honestly, I’m really curious about this title.

La Quinta Camera by: Natsume Ono
Publisher: Viz Media/Viz Signature
Release Date: July 19
From the Publisher: A charming suite of linked stories from the acclaimed author of not simple and House of Five Leaves, set in an apartment in Italy. In four of the rooms live four single men with singular personalities. Into this peculiar ménage steps an exchange student, the new tenant of the fifth room. Brought together by chance, friends by choice, they pursue their dreams together as the days drift gently by.
My Ramblings: Viz seems to have licensed a lot of Natsume Ono’s works lately. I watched the anime adaptation of her House of Five Leaves manga since FUNimation streamed it as part of their noitaminA deal, and it was really interesting, so I may pick up this one shot from her.

Velveteen & Mandala by: Jiro Matsumoto
Publisher: Vertical
Release Date: August 9
From the Publisher: Teenage girls, Velveteen and Mandala, take refuge along a river in the Tokyo outskirts of Suginami. Residing together in a fully-equipped army tank the pair are essentially all the separates their neighborhood and the rest of Tokyo from a full-on zombie invasion. While the countless undead may appear to threaten their survival, cohabitating with each other may expedite their ultimate demise, as they fight over technology, sustenance, and personal space.
My Ramblings: From what I’ve read, this doesn’t really interest me in the least. A lot of people in the ANN forums were excited about the license announcement, but it just doesn’t seem like the kind of thing I go for at all.

With the Light (final posthumous volume) by: Keiko Tobe
Publisher: Yen Press
Release Date: September
From the Publisher: TBA
My Ramblings: This is the posthumous final volume of the series. I’ve heard incredible things about the series, but it’s not one I follow at all. I love that Yen was able to license it though, for those who do follow it. I have a feeling this is the kind of series that one could use to get their parents into manga.

Cigarette Girl by: Masahiko Matsumoto
Publisher: Top Shelf
Release Date: TBA
From ANN: This 2009 collection of short stories by an early artist in the alternative gekiga movement will ship in 2011.
My Ramblings: Another title I know very little about, but it sounds interesting, and I’ve heard really positive things about Top Shelf’s other titles.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Setre permalink
    December 30, 2010 12:04 am

    A lot of these are looking really good to me. Can’t wait to get my hands on Lychee Light Club, Onward Towards Our Noble Deaths, The Strange Tale of Panorama Island, Book of Human Insects, Velveteen & Mandala, and Cigarette Girl.

    I’d also like to thank you for making these lists! It’s a HUGE help in planning out how to manage my spending money in the coming months.

  2. December 31, 2010 2:07 am

    Nothing much for me on this list (which is pretty good seeing how I’ll be blowing all my money on light novels and omnibuses xD)
    Though Mistress Fortune looks pretty :3

  3. December 31, 2010 11:30 am

    @Setre: I’m hoping to get most of those, though who knows what I’ll really end up with by the end of next year, hah, I always want more than I can buy!

    Glad to be of help! I started doing the lists last year because I knew it would help me know what to buy, so I figured I could help others out. :]

    @sylphalchemist: haha, that’s how I feel! I basically have to buy MisuFo. I’ll maybe try a few others, but I’m not compelled to buy any other than MisuFo (mostly because I have the Japanese version and know I love it~).

Trackbacks

  1. More of the best of 2010 « MangaBlog

Leave a Reply

