Skip to content

I Am Here! Volume 2

August 1, 2011

I Am Here! volume 2
by:
Ema Toyama
Published by: Kodansha Comics
from the publisher: After the sudden disappearance of Black Rabbit from her blog, a series of surprises continues to shake up Hikage’s world. What if someone you met online turned out to be someone you knew in real life? In this volume, Hikage, Hinata, and Teru overcome jealousy and betrayal, and together learn valuable lessons about friendship, love, and forgiveness.
my ramblings:
This is like a watered-down version of Kimi ni Todoke. I don’t dislike I Am Here!, but I certainly prefer the former. That’s really all I can think of to say about the story, except that if you’re looking for a definite ending to the love triangle, search for another series (you get a pretty good idea, but nothing definite). Well, that and that the side story at the end of the volume about Mega Pig is absolutely adorable and possibly more interesting than the rest of the volume.

Kodansha published this 5-volume series in 2 omnibus volumes, the first containing volumes 1 and 2 of the original release and the second containing volumes 3-5. One of my biggest complaints about omnibus volumes is usually about the binding, and I have a bit of a strange complaint about this particular one; It’s almost too tight. The binding was definitely better than in the first volume (which was definitely on the loose side), but it was almost so tight that it made it a bit hard to read some of the pages where there were text bubbles close to binding.

I noticed one small typo (a case of “the” should have been “then”), but it was a drastic improvement over what I’d come to expect from Del Rey. Things are certainly looking up for Kodansha Comics!

14 Comments leave one →
  1. August 1, 2011 9:39 pm

    I’ve read a bit of the series and enjoyed it so far. It’s quirky, simple and cute.

  2. August 2, 2011 7:21 pm

    I didn’t know the second volume is out! I really did love the first one.

  3. hanakofantasy permalink
    August 7, 2011 8:08 pm

    You’re right! I just noticed how similar it was to Kimi ni Todoke. I know the basic plot of Kimi ni Todoke, but I never actually read it. I love the story about MegaPig, and I love how he says in the end that Black Rabbit and the Bright Person are useless xD I think he may just be my favorite character.

    Has DelRey already shut down? [have they even stopped printing manga they already translated?]

  4. August 8, 2011 7:56 pm

    @Rebecca P.: I think it’s problem for me is that it’s almost too simple? But I’ll definitely agree that it’s cute and kind of quirky. :]

    @KittyDragon: Yup, came out at the end of July! :D

    @hanakofantasy: It’s sooooo similar! If you enjoy this, you should definitely try KimiTodo! I am absolutely in love with KimiTodo. :D I definitely have to agree with MegaPig being my favorite character~ I wish he had had more actual time in the story as opposed to just being seen through internet comments.

    DelRey Manga is now only publishing CLAMP’s xxxHOLiC (though technically Del Rey is still a fantasy novel publisher like they always were, even before they did manga). Everything else is dropped or transfered over to Kodansha. They haven’t picked up everything that Del Rey did, but they’ve picked up a fair amount. I think the Del Rey titles will stay in print for a while, though it’s looking like some of them are going out of print now (based on if they’re in-stock or not on Amazon). I hope they stay in print though, since they really did publish a lot of good manga before they got super crappy at the end; And I need to finish Kitchen Princess, haha.

  5. AnLi permalink
    August 22, 2011 3:33 pm

    I’m a visitor, but I wanted to say something about it. In my manga reading so far (12 months but started in september) I have to say it was the most touching (so far) one that I’ve read. I didn’t know it was out till’ a few days. Wnen I saw I said I just had to have it! I LOVE IT! but my friend who was talking about did say, What if Teru and Hinata got in a fight for Hikage? I’m wondering if she looked it up or something But I’m sad that it’s over and I just looked up Kimi ni Todoke. It does sound like it alot!.I still wish it wasn’t over. And if they had alternate endings, that would be interesting. I am Here! encourages me

    • August 22, 2011 7:05 pm

      Welcome!! :D

      I definitely suggest you try Kimi ni Todoke. Since you liked I Am Here! so much, I think you’re guaranteed to absolutely fall in love with KimiTodo. :] It’s a longer, slightly more mature version of I Am Here!, and you could think of it kind of as your alternate ending for AMH! :]

  6. AnLi permalink
    August 25, 2011 6:58 pm

    Oh. Thank you for te advice! I will watch it!

  7. Yumi permalink
    February 1, 2012 6:46 pm

    you guys have to watch clannad! its really good, but i have to admit i cried… its soooooooooo good… but really sad… it doesnt matter!!! you should really watch it

    • February 1, 2012 6:52 pm

      Oh yes, Clannad is also awesome~ I cried so much at the second season in particular. :[ But it was excellent!

  8. AnLi permalink
    February 1, 2012 8:40 pm

    What’s Clannad?

  9. AnLi permalink
    February 2, 2012 4:51 pm

    Oh, people say I shoudn’t use Wikiipedia cause’ they change it daily. what’s harem?

    • February 2, 2012 5:35 pm

      In a case like this, wikipedia is totally fine to use; It’s just unreliable for when you’re writing an academic paper.

      Er…harem is best described here: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Harem_(genre)

      But like I said, it’s only sort of a harem; basically there are a bunch of girls, but the protagonist is clearly only interested in one of the girls and she is the main focus of the series.

  10. AnLi permalink
    February 2, 2012 7:57 pm

    aaaaaaaahhhhhhhh

Leave a Reply

