Skip to content

Shojo Beat License Wishlist

September 21, 2012

I do have a giant wishlist of titles that I would love to see licensed in general, but in honor of the Shojo Beat MMF, I thought I would make a slightly shorter list of titles that I would love to see Viz license for Shojo Beat and explain why I want them so much.

MOMO by: Mayu SakaiMOMO by Mayu Sakai
I would love to see at least one Mayu Sakai title licensed in the future and of all the ones I’ve seen snippets of, MOMO has been the one that seemed most interesting to me. I mean really, adorable small alien who is going to destroy the world and her new human friend who is out to stop her? Awesome. And gorgeous.

 

St. Dragon Girl Miracle by Natsumi Matsumoto
I’m assuming that at this point, this probably isn’t happening, as it has been quite some time now since the original St. Dragon Girl ended here in the States, but I would still love to see the sequel and read about Momoka and Ryuga’s daughter’s adventures.

 

 

Cappuccino by: Wataru YoshizumiCherish by: Wataru YoshizumiIl Cappuccino and/or Cherish by Wataru Yoshizumi
I really enjoyed both Marmalade Boy and Ultra Maniac and would really like to see how Yoshizumi handles titles intended for an older audience. Plus both of these titles are singular volumes, which would make them a little easier to try than a longer series.

 

Switch Girl!! by: Natsumi AidaSwitch Girl by Natsumi Aida
This series probably won’t be licensed any time soon as it’s getting to be lengthier, which publishers seem to be shying away from lately, but the premise of this series seems like it has the potential to be both humorous and heartwarming if played correctly. And every single cover art I’ve seen has been hilarious.

 

anything by Ayumi Komura
None of these are likely to be licensed now, as it’s been some time since the end of Mixed Vegetables and there has been no news of any new Komura from Viz, but all of her titles look either adorable, hilarious, or some combination of the two. There is also the major plus of all but Usotsuki Lily being only one or two volumes (UsoLily is currently at 8 and ongoing).

 

HOME by Rinko Ueda
This is a two volumes series from UeRin that was recently put up on JComi legally for free, which makes me a little less bitter that this seemingly adorable series has yet to be licensed. I still would love to see a legal version in English, and since Viz has Stepping on Roses and Tail of the Moon and its prequel, who better? I mean, really, there’s a samurai and European people of the cover of volume 1 and a guy with an eyepatch on the cover of volume 2! An eyepatch!

 

more titles from Yuki Yoshihara
There are a number of shorter titles from Yuki Yoshihara that I would love to see licensed (and I think twitter would agree, based on the poll about more mature titles), Itadakimasu, Venus ni Arazu, and Ningyo Ouji

 

 

Appare Jipangu by Yuu Watase
I’m honestly surprised not more Watase has been licensed. I know it’s hard to license everything from every author, but Watase seems like one that appeals to multiple demographics. From what the internet says Appare Jipgangu is silly, short, and fun, all of which I love.

 

 

Ni no Hime no Monogatari by: Kaneyoshi IzumiJoou no Hana by: Kaneyoshi IzumiNi no Hime no Monogatari and Joou no Hana by Kaneyoshi Izumi
These two are listed together because as far as I can tell, Joou no Hana is a sequel to Ni no Hime no Monogatari. Both of these have gorgeous covers and I pretty much adored Seiho Boys’ High School by Izumi.

 

Penguin Prince by: Kyosuke MotomiOtokomae! Beads Club by: Kyosuke Motomimore Kyousuke Motomi
Because Dengeki Daisy is awesome and her unlicensed titles are 1 volume each?

 

 

 

Zettai Heiwa Daisakusen by: Akane Oguraanything by Akane Ogura
I really think both of these series could fit under a number of publishers, but I would especially love to see them from Viz, as I’m definitely partial to Shojo Beat. Ogura’s art is downright gorgeous and her storytelling is superior to a lot of things that I’ve read.

 

Special Mentions

Kamikaze Kaito Jeanne by Arina Tanemura
Honestly, I just love Arinacchi and would love to see the one title that wasn’t licensed by Viz rescued. Plus Shueisha did a kanzenban edition not too long about, which put the series in 6 volumes over 7 with pretty new covers.

 

 

 

Fruits Basket by Natsuki Takaya
This series really just needs to always be in print, and who better than Viz to save it?

 

 

 

 

Demon Sacred by Natsumi Itsuki
This was one of the few series that I was actually following at Tokyopop’s demise (and definitely one of my favorites of the few I was following) and I would love to see it completed and think it would fit in nicely at Shojo Beat.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. September 21, 2012 7:12 pm

    I would love to see the rest of Demon Sacred. I too was collecting that series from Tokyopop before they shut down :<

    And here here to Appare Jipangu by Yuu Watase. Actually, here here to all the titles listed in your post. More shojo for the English speaking world please!

  2. September 21, 2012 10:44 pm

    The two Yoshizumi series you mentioned look so pretty! Such a big difference from her Marmalade Boy days. I’m seconding the Demon Sacred request, and also the Yoshihara requests… I feel that I would even be okay if certain titles were only available digitally if Viz knows that they’re a harder sell. I just want to read/see more shoujo titles!

  3. September 21, 2012 10:57 pm

    Ogura’s work looks interesting, though I’ve never read any of it. I would also love to read one of Wataru Yoshizumi’s older works Handsome na Kanojo. And I’d throw in Tenshi Nanka Ja Nai – or really anything by Ai Yazawa!

  4. September 27, 2012 5:56 pm

    Yes, yes! Venus ni Arazu! Yuki Yoshihara-we definitely need more!

  5. December 8, 2015 7:28 am

    Fruits basket saved by Yen Press.

Leave a comment