Skip to content

Viz AX Licenses

July 3, 2010

Viz licensed both Sakura Hime Kaden (possibly being released as The Legend of Princess Sakura, I couldn’t really tell from the ANN report) and Mistress Fortune for release early next year~ According to ANN, Mistress Fortune will be released in February 2011 and the first volume of Sakura Hime Kaden will be released in April 2011.

I’m sure it comes as no surprise to anyone that I am beyond excited to see both of these in English finally~ :D I’ve actually already got MisuFo and volumes 1 and 3 of SHK in Japanese, but I am already absolutely buying the Shojo Beat versions. :]

Also licensed were Oresama Teacher by Izumi Tsubaki and Ai Ore by Mayu Shinjo. I wasn’t a big fan of Tsubaki’s The Magic Touch, so I probably won’t get Oresama Teacher (though I’ve heard more about it than the previous series). I’m also not a huge fan of Mayu Shinjo, though I have to admit, the whole genderbending aspect makes me a tad bit curious.

Also, since these did get licensed, I’ve crossed them out on my license wish-list.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. July 4, 2010 5:44 pm

    Yes! \o/ About time. I love it when I’m away from the internet for a weekend or so and get to find out news like this. I have Mistress Fortune in Japanese (because I saw it and it was super sparkly so I had to have it), but I’ll totally buy it again in English. Translate Kisaki so she’s adorable please!

    Now that SHK is released I’ll avoid scanlations. I’m so lukewarm for the series, I’d keep putting off buying it otherwise.

    • July 4, 2010 8:04 pm

      I bought it in Japanese because I loved the scans so much I wanted to make sure I supported Arinacchi just in case it wasn’t licensed (and the super sparkly-ness sure did help in that decision ;] ).

      I think I’ll do the same with SHK too. I like it well enough, but I know I’ll definitely buy the series if I don’t know what’s going on and have to read the legit versions to find out. I don’t think Viz shouldn’t have too slow a release schedule on it since there are 4 volumes out, 5 comes out in a few weeks and 6 comes out next month, and I have no problems waiting just that little bit. :]

  2. warriorhope permalink
    July 4, 2010 10:44 pm

    Arina Tanemura series =yay! Especially MisFort~ (I hope they include the poster)

    Ai Ore isn’t as sucky as some of her other series, but there’s still a lot of attempted rape and stuff (lesbien attempted rape which is admittedly a little bit different from what she usually does). I do like that a reverse trap actually looks like a guy for once instead of just looking like a girl with a bob cut.

  3. July 4, 2010 11:09 pm

    YESSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSS SAKURA HIME KADEN!!

    That is all.

  4. July 5, 2010 12:19 pm

    I must pray that they won’t screw up MisFo but since it’s ViZ, I think I can trust them.

    AHHH!!! This makse me SO happy~! Now if only some kind studio will make a short anime out of it, my life will be more complete. <3

  5. July 8, 2010 4:50 pm

    Count on VIZ to get some good manga :3
    The Legend of Princess Sakura has caught my eye since you posted about it earlier.
    Thus this title has been added to the eventually will check out pile xD

  6. July 29, 2010 4:35 pm

    @Xiao
    I really think that Viz will do a good job, especially since the editor (Nancy Thistlethwiate) was featured by Arinacchi in it~
    And I could totally die a happy fangirl if they did a short anime (like the KKJ ova) for MisuFo~

    @sylphalchemist
    Oh yes, Viz always picks up my favorite shojo manga. :3 (Though they really need to get YumePati and some more Margaret series for me to be a fully happy Shojo Beat fangirl.) The Legend of Princess Sakura has it’s definitely downsides (it’s just all over the place, really), but it’s Arinacchi and I still love it dearly. :]
    I keep adding ridiculous amounts of manga to my own to-read pile, so I totally understand! xD

Trackbacks

  1. AX wrapup, ask Moto Hagio, underrated manga « MangaBlog

Leave a comment