Skip to content

Fushigi Yugi Genbu Kaiden volume 10

September 20, 2012

Fushigi Yugi Genbu Kaiden volume 10
by:
Yuu Watase
Published by: Viz Media [Shojo Beat imprint]
from the publisher: Takiko has returned to the Universe of the Four Gods! As the Celestial Warriors search for the scroll of the Four Gods, Takiko uncovers the truth about the prophecy that turned Uruki and his father into bitter enemies. But while they begin a new chapter in their adventures, Takiko struggles to conceal a terrible secret about herself from the Celestial Warriors…
my ramblings: I intended to do a whole lot more for the Shojo Beat Manga Moveable Feast, but a number of real life things got in the way. But I’m finally back with an actual review! And what better than the most recent volume of Fushigi Yugi Genbu Kaiden?
Yuu Watase has always been one of my favorite artists, mostly stemming from the fact that, other than Sailor Moon, Alice 19th was my first manga, and was definitely the first series that I finished and bought all of. I bought and read all of the Fushigi Yugi VIZBIG volumes when Viz republished them under the Shojo Beat imprint and then finally caught up on Genbu Kaiden at the urging of other fans who basically all said that it was superior.
I certainly don’t disagree that it’s superior to the original, mostly in that Takiko is awesome. She does have her flaws,  but she has so much more backbone than Miaka that I feel like it would be hard not to like her. The beginning of volume 10 showcases Takiko’s backbone nicely. Takiko turns down Uruki, saying “When the priestess summons the sacred beast…and her wish has  been granted…she’s sacrificed, isn’t she? I came back knowing that! Thank you, Uruki…for trying to save my life. But I’ve seen people…freeze and starve to death. People are dying of war and disease. We can’t let anymore innocent souls perish! I will fulfill my responsibility!” I pretty much know for a fact that I don’t have that much backbone, and I certainly respect Takiko for going ahead with what she thinks is right, even though it might end her life.
Actually, almost all of the women in the series are awesome. There is a nice little spoiler revealed about Filka in this volume, which makes me think even better of her. And Inami is incredible as well.
As usual when I try to review something that I really, really like, I just ended up rereading most of the book and loosing my train of thought (though of course most of this was just me rambling along as usual anyway). The end of the volume gives away something that could very well change what I was expecting the end of the story to be. In hindsight, I was not terribly surprised, but it was something that was a core belief to many in the story.
While the series is still running in Japan, I don’t see how it could go on for a whole lot longer, especially since we partially know the ending of the story from Fushigi Yugi and the interaction we get there with a few of the characters from Genbu Kaiden. I am however, dying to know how the series will play out and am very much looking forward to volume 11 from Viz in March!

Leave a comment